History of SLCS

History of St. Louis Church and School


Breaking ground for schoolSt. Louis Church was established in 1950 in North Austin with an initial donation of land made to the Diocese. With a school always in mind, the school doors opened on September 4, 1956 with Sisters of the Holy Cross serving as teachers. Through the years of the 60’s, St. Louis Parish and School continued to flourish with Bishop Reicher’s purchase of 13.30 acres in March of 1961. With a need for additional classrooms, in the fall of 1967 the school opened the secondary building. On May 4, 1969, ground broke with Bishop Reicher to start construction of a new church for the growing parish.

Construction finished on the new Church and Bishop Louis Reicher blessed the new structure on October 25, 1970. The old structure was repurposed into the Parish Education Center. While other parishes were struggling with their schools, St. Louis continued to grow because of the incoming population to the area throughout the 80’s. The Ox Emerson track was added during this time, named after the coach who spearheaded the project. The St. Louis School Trust Fund was established in 1984 “to provide partial or full scholarships for those needy students who wish to attend St. Louis School.” The gym was added to campus in 1982. To broaden the educational experience our students would receive, an additional 3 rooms were added to the secondary building that would house a science lab and sound proof music room in 1991. The Parish Activity Center was re-dedicated as Wozniak Hall in honor of Fr. Wozniak, the parish’s second priest. The cityscape of Austin has vastly changed over the years, but the heart of St. Louis has remained. The school continues to offer a quality, Catholic education to students in and around the Austin area.